2009 Boxing Knockout Of The Year Nominees

Welcome to your Queensberry Rules annual year-end awards, continuing throughout the week. Here’s how we do it around these parts:

The major categories are Round of the Year, Knockout of the Year, Fight of the Year and Fighter of the Year. The final day is a pu-pu platter of awards ranging from Trainer of the Year to more frivolous topics like, say, Worst Haircut of the Year.

On the first day of each category, I give five finalists, with video and/or relevant info. You tell me if my finalists and honorable mentions are lacking, and give your vote on who you think should win. Maybe you sway me to adjust the list, and maybe you sway me on the eventual winner. On the second day after a category is introduced, I give that winner and explain why. (There are no major fights left in 2009, but we reserve the right to change our category winners if something crazy happens.)

So, today: Knockout of the year candidates now, plus Round of the Year winner later. Tomorrow: Knockout of the Year winner, plus Fight of the Year candidates.

Your five finalists, in chronological order:

Randall Bailey-Francisco Figueroa

After all these years, that Bailey right hand still is one of the most frightening weapons in boxing.

Manny Pacquiao-Ricky Hatton

I was worried for Hatton’s life for several minutes after. It was that devastating.

Antonio Pitalua-Jose Reyes

Blam. Like it came out a shotgun.

Arthur Abraham-Jermain Taylor

At first, it didn’t look like the reaction matched the punch. But look again. It’s mean.

Lucian Bute-Librado Andrade II

How many KO of the Year candidates come via uppercut to the body? Bonus because Andrade being knocked out was unthinkable.


Your honorable mentions, in no particular order:

Brian Viloria-Ulises Solis

Juan Manuel Marquez-Juan Diaz

Mike Alvarez-Emmanuel Clottey

Toshiaki Nishioka-Jhonny Gonzalez

Antonio Escalante-Gary Stark

Guillermo Rigondeaux-Robert Guillen

Edison Miranda-Francisco Sierra

Vic Darchinyan-Tomas Rojas

Chris Avalos-Giovanni Caro (poor quality video)

Alfredo Angulo-Harry Joe Yorgey

Tomas Adamek-Jonathon Banks

John Molina-Joshua Allotey (no video)

Matt Korobov-Cory Jones (no video)

Giovanni Lorenzo-Dionisio Miranda (no video)

Ola Afolabi-Enzo Maccarinelli (no video)

(I can’t promise all these videos will stay up forever — it’s subject to the whims of YouTube.)

About Tim Starks

Tim is the founder of The Queensberry Rules and co-founder of The Transnational Boxing Rankings Board (http://www.tbrb.org). He lives in Washington, D.C. He has written for the Guardian, Economist, New Republic, Chicago Tribune and more.