Boxing Knockout Of The Decade Nominees, 2000s

Ten years of boxing, boiled down to the “best of” in four categories: Round of the Decade, Knockout of the Decade, Fight of the Decade and Fighter of the Decade.

Today: Round of the Decade candidates earlier, plus Knockout of the Decade candidates now. Monday: Round of the Decade and Knockout of the Decade winners, plus Fight of the Decade candidates. Tuesday: Fight of the Decade winner, plus Fighter of the Decade top 10. Wednesday: an awards-season Open Thread.

These are all the Knockouts of the Year from Ring magazine plus The Queensberry Rules’ winner for 2009, in chronological order, with video where possible. Who you got?

2000: Ben Tackie KO10 Roberto Garcia

2001: Lennox Lewis KO4 Hasim Rahman

2002: Lennox Lewis KO8 Mike Tyson

2003: Rocky Juarez KO10 Antonio Diaz

2004: Antonio Tarver KO2 Roy Jones, Jr.

2005: Allan Green KO1 Jaidon Codrington

2006: Calvin Brock KO6 Zuri Lawrence

2007: Nonito Donaire KO5 Vic Darchinyan

2008: Edison Miranda KO3 David Banks

2009: Manny Pacquiao KO2 Ricky Hatton

(Videos stay up as long as they stay up on YouTube.)

About Tim Starks

Tim is the founder of The Queensberry Rules and co-founder of The Transnational Boxing Rankings Board ( He lives in Washington, D.C. He has written for the Guardian, Economist, New Republic, Chicago Tribune and more.