2013 Boxing Fight Of The Year Nominees

Welcome to The Queensberry Rules' annual year-end awards. Here's how we do it around these parts:

The major categories are Knockout of the Year, Round of the Year, Fight of the Year and Fighter of the Year. The final leg, which will finish early next week, is a pu-pu platter of awards ranging from Trainer of the Year to more frivolous topics.

For each category, we give five finalists, with video and/or relevant info. You tell us if our finalists and honorable mentions are lacking, and give your vote on who you think should win. Maybe you sway us to adjust the list, and maybe you sway us on the eventual winner. On the second day after a category is introduced, we'll give that winner and explain why. (There are virtually no major fights left in 2013, but we reserve the right to change our category winners if something crazy happens.)

So, up now: Fight of the Year candidates. Previously: Knockout of the Year candidates, Round of the Year candidates, Knockout of the Year. On deck: Round of the Year and Fighter of the Year candidates.


Timothy Bradley – Ruslan Provodnikov

Bradley-Provodnikov came early enough in the year that for the next nine months, we had to ask, "Sure, that was a Fight of the Year contender, but was it better than Bradley-Provodnikov?"

Mike Alvarado – Brandon Rios II

The first contender to Bradley-Provodnikov came just two weeks later, and proved a worthy successor to 2012's Fight of the Year between the made-for-one-another Rios and Alvarado.

Omar Figueroa – Nihito Arakawa

It was inhumane and often one-sided. But it also was a testament, if a frightening one, to the extraordinary things that boxers can do.

Giovani Segura – Hernan Marquez

Two men who don't outweigh supermodels were expected by hardcore fans to overshadow a ballyhooed slugging match between Gennady Golovkin and Curtis Stevens that same night, and they did, complete with dramatic finish.

Carl Froch – George Groves

The first part belonged to Groves, stunningly. Just as stunningly, even given his track record, Froch began to take over. Too bad about that ending, although it gave boxing folk something to talk about for a while.


Guillermo Jones – Denis Lebedev

Carl Froch – Mikkel Kessler II

Mike Alvarado – Ruslan Provodnikov

Sakio Bika – Marco Antonio Periban

Andre Berto – Jesus Soto Karass

Marcos Maidana – Josesito Lopez

Darren Barker – Daniel Geale

Juan Francisco Estrada – Brian Viloria

Erislandy Lara – Alfredo Angulo

Sakio Bika – Anthony Dirrell

Jayson Velez – Dat Nguyen

2013-10-05 Jayson Velez vs Dat Nguyen by sweetboxing14

Evgeny Gradovich – Billy Dib I

James Kirkland – Glen Tapia (no video available)

About Tim Starks

Tim is the founder of The Queensberry Rules and co-founder of The Transnational Boxing Rankings Board (http://www.tbrb.org). He lives in Washington, D.C. He has written for the Guardian, Economist, New Republic, Chicago Tribune and more.