2018 Boxing Knockout of the Year Nominees

Welcome to The Queensberry Rules’ annual year-end boxing awards, continuing throughout this week. Here’s how we do it around these parts:

The major categories are Knockout of the Year, Fight of the Year and Fighter of the Year. For each category, we give five finalists, with video and/or relevant info.  On the second day after a category is introduced, we’ll give you the winner and explain why.

Up now: 2018 Knockout of the Year nominees. On deck: Fight of the Year nominees and Knockout of the Year winner.


Naoya Inoue vs Juan Carlos Payano


If ever you weren’t convinced Inoue is a prodigy, him knocking out a top-5 divisional opponent in mere moments, and doing it like that, should’ve disabused you.

Dereck Chisora vs Carlos Takam

Chisora both gaveth and tooketh big knockouts in 2018, and the fans were better for it.

Oleksandr Usyk vs Tony Bellew

In a stellar year, this was the finest single moment for Usyk. Ka-pow.

Teofimo Lopez vs Mason Menard

Poor Mason Menard keeps being on the wrong side of KO of the Year nominees. Cool points for the slow-motion fall and celebratory Teofimo flip.

Dillian Whyte vs Dereck Chisora 2 

And with that perfect left, thus ended the exceptionally violent rivalry between the aforementioned Chisora and Whyte.


Vasyl Lomachenko vs Jorge Linares


Dillian White vs Lucas Browne

Oleksandr Gvozdyk vs Adonis Stevenson

Harlem Eubank vs Petar Alexandrov

Amir Khan vs Phil Lo Greco


Hurricane Futa vs Vage Sarukhanyan


Jermall Charlo vs Hugo Centero, Jr.

Alvin Lagumbay vs Keita Obara


Deontay Wilder vs Luis Ortiz

Murat Gassiev vs Yunier Dorticos

David Lemieux vs Gary O’Sullivan


Alexander Povetkin vs David Price

David Allen vs Nick Webb

Danny Garcia vs Brandon Rios

About Tim Starks

Tim is the founder of The Queensberry Rules and co-founder of The Transnational Boxing Rankings Board (http://www.tbrb.org). He lives in Washington, D.C. He has written for the Guardian, Economist, New Republic, Chicago Tribune and more.