2014 Boxing Fight Of The Year Nominees

Welcome to The Queensberry Rules’ annual year-end awards, continuing into this week. Here’s how we do it around these parts:

The major categories are Knockout of the Year, Round of the Year, Fight of the Year and Fighter of the Year. The final leg, which will finish next week, is a pu-pu platter of awards ranging from Trainer of the Year to more frivolous topics.

For each category, we give five finalists, with video and/or relevant info. You tell us if our finalists and honorable mentions are lacking, and give your vote on who you think should win. Maybe you sway us to adjust the list, and maybe you sway us on the eventual winner. On the second day after a category is introduced, we’ll give that winner and explain why.

So, up now: Fight of the Year candidates. Previously: Knockout of the Year candidates, Round of the Year candidates, Knockout of the Year and Round of the Year. On deck: Fight of the Year and Fighter of the Year candidates.


Steve Cunningham-Amir Mansour

An undersized heavyweight and big puncher didn’t have any business collaborating on this kind of war.

Lucas Matthysse-John Molina (highlights)

It was supposed to be a “get well” fight for Matthysse, of sorts. It was, in fact, the opposite.

Terence Crawford-Yuriorkis Gamboa

This was the Gamboa we always wanted, albeit a little too small; he pushed Crawford to his limit.

Francisco Rodriguez, Jr.-Katsunari Takayama

If you’re snobby about boxing’s littlest men, you missed a treat.

Orlando Salido-Terdsak Kokietgym

Seven knockdowns in another always-dramatic Salido showing.


Travis Dickinson-Matty Clarkson

Rodrigo Guerrero-Daniel Rosas

Felix Sturm-Robert Stieglitz

Lanardo Tyner-Angel Hernandez

Robert Guerrero-Yoshihiro Kamegai

Anthony Crolla-John Murray

Curtis Stevens-Tureano Johnson

Tommy Coyle-Daniel Brizuela

Roman Gonzalez-Akira Yaegashi

Monty Meza-Clay-Alan Herrera

Carl Froch-George Groves II

Jose Lopez-Roberto Castaneda

David Lemieux-Gabriel Rosado (highlights)

About Tim Starks

Tim is the founder of The Queensberry Rules and co-founder of The Transnational Boxing Rankings Board (http://www.tbrb.org). He lives in Washington, D.C. He has written for the Guardian, Economist, New Republic, Chicago Tribune and more.